Home   |   Member Login   |   About FCITL   |   Join FCITL

Florida Council of Instructional Technology Leaders

Latest FCITL News

JanuJanuary 13, 2016 - William Floyd wins 2015-16 Innovative Principal of the Year
Mr. Floyd is Principal of Ocoee High School, Orange County, Florida

Bill Floyd pictured with Bridgette Williams, West Area Superintendent, Orange County, Florida

January 21, 2015 - Michael Thorpe wins 2014-15 Innovative Principal of the Year

Mr. Thorpe is Principal of Milton High School, Santa Rosa County, Florida

January 29, 2014 - Susan Persis wins 2014 Innovative Principal of the Year
Pictured with Jessica Levene, Manager of Learning Technologies & Help Desk

Pictured with Pine Trail Elementary teachers

September 23, 2013 - Florida tackles PARCC and Common Core

FL Governor Rick Scott announces the state’s decision to withdraw from the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC), 9/23/13: http://www.flgov.com/2013/09/23/governor-rick-scott-announces-path-forward-for-high-education-standards-decision-to-withdraw-from-parcc/

More Common Core:




June 30 2010

Transforming American Education – The New National Education Technology Plan
Jay Feliciani (Pasco), Dr. Jeanine Gendron (Broward), and Karen Cator (US DOE Director, Education Technology) participated in an iConference on the National Education Technology Plan. The 1.15 hour event is accessible in the link below. Ms Cator and school district panellists discussed the new National Education Technology Plan and its impact on schools, schooling and student learning in the future. Ms. Cator went over the NETP and took questions from three panelists. The link will be active for four months and is posted on the FCITL Resources page as well. URL: http://programs.plcelearning.com/course/view.php?id=94

June 15, 2010

Marilyn Gavitt Becomes New FCITL Treasurer
On June 30, 2010 Ken St. James retired from Monroe County Schools after 30 years of good service there. Ken was an educator in Rochester, NY before coming to Florida. At the FCITL board meeting Tuesday, June 15th, Marilyn Gavitt was approved by the board to succeed him. Ken and Marilyn are already working to make the transition smoothly. Congratulations, Ken, and thank you for serving FCITL so well! Thanks to Marilyn for accepting this position!

August 19, 2009

Vickie Beagle Becomes Secretary

The board voted today to elect Vickie Beagle (Santa Rosa County) as our new secretary replacing Jeanine Gendron through the remainder of the 2009 term. The vacancy was created when Jeanine Gendron was elected President Elect in June.

June 26, 2009

Jeanine Gendron Becomes President Elect; New Secretary Sought
Voting closed today with Jeanine Gendron (Broward County) being elected as our new president elect to fill the vacancy until elections are completed for 2010 board positions. The vacancy was created when Randi Zwicker announced her June retirement plans necessitating Chris Bress to step in as President almost six months early.

Email voting, completed through our Cvent event management system, brought in an unprecedented 89% of the total possible votes. Thanks to all voting members who took the time to make your selection!

Jeanine's election as opens a vacancy on the Board of Directors for the position of Secretary. Nominations for a new Secretary are being sought through the membership in an email to all members. We hope to conclude the voting process before the next FCITL Board of Directors meeting on August 19th.

June 24, 2009

Chris Bress Becomes President; Matt Frey Is New Board Member
History was made today as Randi Zwicker (Collier County) passed organization control to Chris Bress (Charlotte County) during a virtual board meeting conducted via Elluminate. Randi is retiring at the end of the month.

In other board action, the board elected Matt Frey (Brevard County) as a new member of the Board of Directors to fill a term left vacant by Jorge Ortega (Leon County.) Jorge is retiring at the end of this week. Matt will fill the vacancy until elections are completed for 2010 board positions.

We appreciate the service of both Randi and Jorge and wish them renewed passion and purpose in this next phase of their lives, and many new accomplishments.

June 12, 2009

Ballots have been sent to all voting members to choose a new President Elect to fill the remainder of the 2009 term. Candidates for office are:
Matt Frey, Brevard County
Dr. Jeanine Gendron, Broward County
Gary Weisenhammer, Palm Beach County

May 15, 2009

Randi Zwicker to Retire in June; New President Elect Sought

President Elect Chris Bress has called a nomination committee together to identify candidates for President Elect. The new election is necessary to have a new Presdident Elect when Chris becomes President on July 1st after Randi's retirement.

February 15, 2009

2009 President Mike Horan Resigns
Mike Horan, Sarasota County, was President Elect in 2008 and became president at the annual meeting in 2009. However, as of February 15, 2009, Mike left Sarasota County Schools to become a national Education Services Strategist with Promethean. In accordance with our Constitution and Bylaws, he also resigned as president of FCITL and Randi Zwicker, past president has again assumed that role.